Isinglass Teen Read Award 

The Isinglass Teen Read Award was begun in 2001 by the Barrington Public Library and the Barrington Middle School in order to promote teen reading, the participation of teens in the creation of their own reading list, and to honor those authors whose works speak to youth. The award is now open to all New Hampshire students in grades 7-8.

Voting is done annually in April.
  So join us in reading from the current, and past lists, and send us your suggestions for new titles to add!

View the 2013-2014 Current Reading List can see cover shots, YouTube Trailers, and read reviews on each title at this link.
This is the list we will be voting on this coming April 2014.

Click HERE for book reviews by Podcast (Will update soon...still old 2012 list)

Upcoming Selection Committee Meetings

Wednesday, January 15, 4-6 pm Barrington Middle School, School Media Center, Barrington, NH - Amy Perry, host.
Wednesday, February 12, 4-6 pm Wilton Public and Gregg Free Library, Wilton, NH - Allison Steele, host.
Wednesday, March 12, 4-6 pm location TBA
Wednesday, April 2, 4-6 pm, location TBA - finalize list
Wednesday, April 9, 4-6 pm, location TBA - finalist list *extra meeting if we need it

New members always welcomed!

Past Lists of Nominated Titles


Forms, Bookmarks, & Brochures You May Need to Participate

Student Suggestion Slips
Voting Slip (For Students)
Tally Slip (For School/Library to Submit All Votes) 
Submit Votes by E-mail...fill out tally sheet, scan, and send as PDF to the contact listed on the tally sheet)

2013-2014 Printable Brochure of Nominated Titles
Spine Labels
Bookmarks (2014 List) (Printable)
Nomination Criteria Sheet
Hosting Guidelines for Winning Author Visit

Past Winners!
2012-2013   Divergent by Veronica Roth
2011-2012   I Am Number Four by
Pittacus Lore (James Frey & Jobie Hughes)
2010-2011- Maze Runner by James Dasher

2009-2010- Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
2008-2009- Drums, Girls, and Dangerous Pie by Jordan Sonnenblick
2007-2008- Perfect by Natasha Friend
2006-2007- Twilight by Stephenie Meyers
2005-2006 -One of Those Hideous Books Where The Mother Dies by Sonya Sones
2004-2005- Eragon by Christopher Paolini
2003-2004- Cut by Patricia McCormick
2002-2003- Monster by Walter Dean Myers
2001-2002- The last Book in the Universe by Rodman Philbrick



I Am Number Four Cover

                                  Our first winner, Rodman Philbrick, 
                             accepts his award in person from
                                                the teens!